top of page

About Us

Melton Mowbray photographic Society is friendly, inclusive club that welcomes anyone who is interested in Photography.  All photography abilities are catered for, so whether you are taking photos on your phone or have the latest DSLR, we have something for you.

The programme is varied and includes visiting speakers presenting talks on different styles of photography.  Practical evenings evenings with hands on demonstrations. As well as regular competitions for members of all abilities.  We also have other spin off groups and activities that members can join and get involved with.

The evenings are also a time to socialize, meet up and of course talk about photography.

AdobeStock_167178971 (1).jpeg

Mary's Place

8 Burton Street

Melton Mowbray


LE13 1AE

Entrance is between the Crown pub and Mary's Place, to the rear of building.   

Club Evenings

We meet on Friday evenings, 7.30 - 9.30pm at Mary’s Place (formely the Samworth Centre). The season runs from September through to May and have a great

weekly programme .

Membership fees for 2023/24 season.

•    Single membership £75.00

•    Couples membership £105.00

•    Over 60s single membership £63.00

•    Over 60s couple membership £90.00

•    Under 18s and full time student membership £40.00

•    New members £40.00

Click for online membership form

If you are interested in coming along to if you would like to join us.  We will let people come  up to 3 times for free, before joining. 

History of the Club

MMPS History Melton Mowbray Photographic Society has been in existence since 1946.  In 2021 we celebrated 75 years as a photography club.

Starting out the club has always embraced the current photography trends of the day which continues to this day.  Moving through different types of film photography the club eventually transitioned to Digital photography.  In more recent years we have continued to keep up with new technologies and have even hosted speakers and practical evenings about Smart Phone photography.

Since early days and the introduction of “Digital” Photography has changed photography almost beyond recognition and has changed the boundaries and possibilities.  We also believe it has changed the behaviour and habits of many clubs.  However we must not forget that the same basic rules still apply to good photography and many of the past basic principles are still used at the club today.

Since its time in existence the club has been fortunate enough to have had a number of very good photographers through the years which continues to

this day.

We hope that as photography changes the MMPS will continue to change and modernise for many more years to come.

Old MMPS 5.jpeg
Old MMPS 2 1.jpeg
MMPS 86_87 Programme inside 4.jpeg
MMPS 80_81 Programme outside_edited.jpg

1974/75 Programme

MMPS 74_75 Programme outside_edited.jpg

1980/81 Programme

MMPS 99_00 and 00_01 Programme covers 1_edited.jpg

1999/00 Programme

bottom of page